top of page

About us

inauguration address.jpg

L-R :- Marcus Osindero,Chris Adegbola, Sesan Olabiran(Late), Devedra Munot, Olaniyi Kehinde(Pres-Elect),Kunle Ogunbayo,Badru B.A(President),Mrs Badru, Olufemi Olatunji, Sesan Daramola

ASHRAE Nigeria Chapter (187) was chartered by the Society members council in October 25,2009 and inaugurated March 23, 2010, with about 124 varied professionals from the built industry.

The Chartering was performed by Dr. Walid Chakroun (ASHRAE Region-at-Large DRC) via Skype and this remains a major sign post in annals of the Society.

Dr. Walid Chakroun delivered a technical presentation on Indoor Air Quality.












The Nigeria Chapter is charged with responsibilities of serving the following(15) geographical areas:-

Nigeria, Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Cote D'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau , Liberia, Mali, Niger, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.

In line with the objectives of the  founding fathers of ASHRAE, over 125 years ago, the Nigeria chapter is driven by  desire to raise the standards of HVAC& R industry locally through continuous education of members and other interested persons in the sciences of HVAC&R Engineering and related sciences through lectures,demonstrations,publications, e-learning, seminars, technical workshops, journals,training courses and Certifications.

Nigeria Chapter rendered Career guidance and financial assistance to students of the sciences and also encouraged Scientific Research.

Our members are drawn from different parts of Nigeria and West coast of Africa.

The history of ASHRAE Nigeria would be incomplete without a mention of the visionary leader of the steering committee, Babatunde Agboola Badru, and other distinguished members of the steering committee both local and international.


Badru has to his credit the approval of the formation of ASHRAE Nigeria by the Society Members Council and after the first election in November13, 2009, he emerged the first President of ASHRAE Nigeria Chapter  (2009-2012)






Our First Set of Board of Governors (2009-2010) consist of:-

Babatunde A. Badru        - President

Kehinde Olaniyi                - President-Elect

Daramola Oluwasesan     - Vice President

Devendra  Munot              - Secretary

Olabiran Oluwasesan       - Member BOG

Olatunji Olufemi                - Member BOG


In March 2013 ,we had the priviledge and honor of hosting the Society President Ron Jarnagin , despite all odds  regarding the security alerts about Nigeria he volunteered to be our DL for the year 2013 . His technical lecture was based on ASHRAE BeQ using the ASHRAE headquarter as his case study was highly attended by varied professionals from the country. He also visited the ASHRAE UNILAG STUDENTS' BRANCH,Akoka,Lagos and BADAGRY-HISTORICAL SLAVE  Trading town


  • Nigeria Chapter received the trophy for the largest delegates to ASHRAE Region -At-Large (RAL), Chapter Regional Conference(CRC) in Cairo-2010 and Abu Dhabi- 2011.

  • The First Student Branch, University of Lagos- ASHRAE Unilag Student Branch was chartered in 2011,

  • The foundation for the formations of  Abuja and Ghana Sections was laid in 2010, the Abuja Section was chartered in November,2019 and Ghana Section was chartered in February, 2020

dr walid chakroun.png
walid chakrun.jpg
BOG Members 2010-11.png
Ron Jarnagin President (2011-12)

From L - R:



bottom of page